Hi, My Name is Lisa, and I Am a Crier

So, I don’t know much about what type of people actually read this blog, but I’m hoping you all (I say “you all” even though it’s not really a lot) are emotional wrecks like I am. No–not really. I take it back; I hope everyone is at least semi-sane and has their ship together in one piece.

Get your ship together

I do hope you have a sense of humor though and don’t take me too seriously–that would be a travesty.

Anyway, I thought I should mention that I am, what some people might describe as, “a chronic weeper.” I cry. I just cry and cry and cry. At the smallest fraction of emotion I will be in tears (this clip of Kristin Bell totally resonates with me).

Seriously.

I don’t know why it happens, but it’s kind of alarming sometimes.

Normal

Emotional

I’ll cry if I’m happy. I’ll cry if I’m sad. I’ll cry if I’m scared. I don’t get it.

Too Happy

I get overwhelmed by other people’s emotions–just by seeing someone else’s happiness makes my eyeballs drown in salty discharge. Likewise, if I see someone on TV (or in real life) start to cry, I will cry.

Seeing happy kids with dreams for their futures and happy families really brings out the waterworks. That is like a 100% guarantee. All the time, every time–puts me in tears. Honestly, anything to do with little kids being happy or sad tugs at my heartstrings.

I don’t even have to see it. Just reading things makes me cry.

Sad

If I listen to a song that is particularly beautiful, I will cry.

I think you get the picture . . .

. . . I must have gotten stuck in some phase of child development.

Recently, I was watching an episode of The Office. For those of you who haven’t been following, I’m warning you now: spoiler alert. I was watching the episode of Cece’s ballet recital–Pam is more technologically challenged than she thinks and Jim gets super upset, making Pam cry.

This just threw me out of my chair and slammed me against the floor (not really, but that’s what it felt like). I was sitting in my little room, tears streaming down my cheeks, sniffling and sobbing while staring at my monitor. I was inconsolable.

The show was over and I was just sitting like a dummy, crying my eyeballs out.

My mom comes in my room to ask me a question. She sees me weeping at nothing and is immediately concerned–probably thinking my love life is in shambles and I’ve just had my heart broken, or my cat died and I don’t even have a cat . . . something extreme.

Caught Crying

I turn to her, wipe my cheeks, and have to explain that I was just watching a show.

And then she laughs. (Maybe I imagined this, but I’m pretty sure it happened).

She just laughs and laughs and laughs. And I go back to crying.

And that’s what I’m like when it’s not even “that time of month.” Imagine what a wreck I am for that week. I don’t even want to go there–ugh.

Welp, cheers!
L

11 thoughts on “Hi, My Name is Lisa, and I Am a Crier

  1. I feel you, Lisa. You know my recent past. Tears all the time. Its ok not to have it together every minute of everyday. Great post 🙂

    • Haha, yeah. We should probably generate a group of weepers so we can have good cries together. It’ll be an endless cycle. One will start crying, which will cause a chain reaction. And none of us will know why we started crying in the first place. It’ll be very therapeutic, I’m sure.

    • Welp, you know, I’m not so sure. The whole point is that I cry for no reason at all. It mostly just makes me feel silly–especially in public. Silly because, you know, when I look around absolutely nobody else has been moved to tears by that McDonald’s commercial of the Fish McBites . . . or something to that extent 😛

  2. Hi, my name is Yvonne, and I’m a crier too. I can even cry for no reason. Sometimes I just feel the tears coming and I sit and cry for a couple of minutes.. You’re not alone! 🙂

    • Hi, Yvonne. Welcome to the club! I hear the first step is acceptance. After that, I’m not so sure where we go. I think probably to the doctor where we get our hearts turned into stone. That’ll stop the crying for sure!

  3. I remember at the age of 7 crying while watching the Chipmunk movie. I only vaguely remember the plot, but it had something to do with a penguin family. The father of the friend I was visiting mocked the very obvious waterworks building up in the corners of my eyes, but even then I knew he was just a jerk. I still get a bit watered up over the stupidest things, things that hit me in just the right spot.

    No shame in it. 🙂 Don’t let anybody tell you otherwise.

    • First of all, the Chipmunks had a movie?? That was it. There was only one thing. Just kidding, but I’m sure you’ve since “manned” up because of that jerk-dad. Do you now eat lots of steak, lift cars, and uproot trees from the ground to toss them across the street whenever you feel something tingling in your eyes? Tears? What tears? Men tear other men to pieces and crush skulls with their pinky finger! It’s funny to me what a little bit of emotion does to a man 🙂 Like you said, “No shame!” It’s our birthday and we’ll cry if we want to! We’ll cry if we want to . . . No? All right, just me then 😛

  4. Hi, My name is Maddi and I’m a crier.
    Just like you, everything. Something happy, sad, angry; hell, just now I was watching the news and some farmers were digging their sheep out of the snow. Blubbing.
    But I think crying’s OK. I mean, it’s only human right? And it’s better than being angry, sometimes it makes you feel better.
    Keep crying 😉
    Maddi x

Leave a Reply

